book reviews · books

Cinder (the Lunar Chronicles) Review

16-02-06-22-51-06-167_deco.jpg

Rating

🔧🔧🔧🔧🔧/5

Synopsis

Humans and androids crowd the streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl…. Sixteen-year-old Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past and is reviled by her stepmother. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future. Because there is something unusual about Cinder, something that others would kill for.

Review

This is actually a re-read for me since I got Winter for Christmas and wanted a refresher, and I’ve got to say, I’m still never disappointed in this book. My first time reading it was my senior year of high school, I was helping out at the school library in exchange for getting out of a loud study hall. Well, I saw it on the shelf, newly put out by the librarian before school even started, and it intrigued me. The cover was gorgeous, the synopsis was great, so I checked it out and I never regretted it. I read it every chance I got (I even read when I was supposed to be working on homework) and finished it in no time. Let’s get back to review, since I rambled on way too long 😆

Cinder is a futuristic retelling of the classic tale Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper, which is about a kindhearted girl who was mistreated by her stepmother and stepsisters and ends up marrying the handsome prince and living happily ever after. Marissa Meyer stayed true to the classic tale in certain aspects of the story, like the mean stepmother and the prince charming, but she decided to redo Cinderella, or Cinder, and make her a strong and independent female lead instead of the usual damsel in distress that we usually get. But just because she’s strong and independent doesn’t mean she is invulnerable and we get to see that in her internal dialogue. Cinder goes through a lot in this book, and will continue to have to go through a lot, but by the end of it we see her grow to be a stronger person when we start the second book. (Also, Prince Kai is the best, he has made my heart stop every time it switched to him or when Cinder interacted with him 😆)

Question

What’s your favorite quote from Cinder?

Answer

“I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”

His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room. “The cybernetic operation?”

“No, the sex change.” the doctor’s smile faltered. “I’m joking.”

8 thoughts on “Cinder (the Lunar Chronicles) Review

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! You are so sweet (つω⊂* ) Your blog is so amazing as well! I hope that my posts will continue to be something that you enjoy. And thank you so much, you made me so happy with this >///<

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

