book reviews · books

Too Late (A Wattpad Story)

54616251-368-k336073

Rating

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟/5

Synopsis

From #1 New York Times bestselling author, Colleen Hoover.

Sloan will go through hell and back for those she loves. And she does, every single day. After finding herself stuck in a relationship with the dangerous and morally corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to get by until she’s able to get out.

Nothing will get in her way.

Nothing except Carter.

Sloan is the best thing to ever happen to Asa. And if you ask Asa, he’d say he’s the best thing that’s ever happened to Sloan. And he has no plans of letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his sinister lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to keep what he wants, and he’ll do it. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top, and he does it.

Nothing will get in his way.

Nothing except Carter.

Review

Can I say I love Colleen Hoover now? Because this story sucked me in and I couldn’t stop reading, that’s how good it is! (I actually finished it in one sitting πŸ˜…) Parts of this may be spoiler-ish, so if you’d like to read it here’s the link {Too Late}, read it and come back if you’d like to fangirl with me.

This was actually my first Colleen Hoover story and my first new adult one as well and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I’m not usually a fan of stories/novels that have sex in them, but I was so engrossed with the plot and characters that I didn’t seem to care. All of the characters were so complex and different that I enjoyed all three POVs. My favorite POV has to be Carter/Luke because you could feel everything that he went through, falling for Sloan, his longing to take her away from everything and his struggle to not cross the line between duty and love. And it was so fascinating to see things from his perspective, because we not only got to see through Sloan’s eyes, but his and *sometimes* Asa’s as well. I love Sloan, she was so strong yet so fragile, it made her so real to me. Her love for her brother and her dedication to get him the care that he needed was truly admirable and it just made me love her more. I admire her because even though she doesn’t love Asa, she was willing to marry him to keep her brother away from her mother and in and safe and reliable place. She is probably the first character I’ve felt this much admiration for, and its nice. Now to discuss Asa, the man I hated and pitied at the same time. I understand mental illness and what it can do to people, my uncle and cousins are proof enough that I know d*mn well what happens if someone isn’t medicated right or not at all. But that’s beside the point, let’s get back to Asa, when we got the first chapter from his POV, he perplexed me. I had a feeling that either 1.) he was abused or neglected as a child or 2.) that he had a mental illness, turns out I was right about both. I’m conflicted, I don’t know whether I should feel sad for him or angry at him, and if you ask me later I’ll probably say a little of both, but I did enjoy his POV immensely. It was interesting being in his head and seeing everything through his eyes because it gave me a bit of an insight on some things that my uncle went through. The second to last chapter made me happy knowing Sloan and Luke could finally be together without worrying about Asa finding out and hurting them. Also the last chapter made me laugh so much, it surprised me but I think it was sort of a nice way to end a very serious story 😊

One thought on “Too Late (A Wattpad Story)

Leave a Reply

