book reviews · books

A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

16-05-28-11-43-19-889_deco

Rating

๐ŸŽญ๐ŸŽญ๐ŸŽญ๐ŸŽญ๐ŸŽญ/5

Synopsis

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlinโ€”one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlinโ€”and his worldโ€”forever.

Review

ย Oh my gosh this book is simply amazing and all of the hype was right on the money! I absolutely adore retellings and fairy related books and this fulfilled both and gave me so much more than I had originally expected. Sarah J. Maas weaves words into these beautiful books that make you sit on the edge of your seat and cry once its over. This world she created was so complex and gorgeous that I wish we could’ve seen more of it because I’m really interested in the different courts and how they all work. I also would’ve liked to see more of the human world and how fairies in different parts of the world fared next to the humans. You could also tell when she was using the original Beauty and the Beast story as inspiration but she made it entirely her own instead of relying on the original so much. Its actually the first time I’ve read on of Sarah J. Maas’s books and I’m glad that this was the first because this story was just one giant rollercoaster ride that I enjoyed immensely ๐Ÿ˜Š

Also, I actually solved the riddle not long after I had read it ๐Ÿ˜† I reread it several times before realizing what it was ๐ŸŒ™ I was so happy once I figured out I was right ๐Ÿ’•

3 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

  1. I thought the world building was such a strength of the story, and haha I solved the riddle really quickly and then was kind of disappointed in Feyre for not getting there a bit faster. Loved the Beauty and the Beast inspiration

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was, the world building was so great and complex, its one of my favorite things ๐Ÿ˜Š Same! I was shaking the book when Feyre she didn’t get it ๐Ÿ˜…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

